Areas of Study

A stained glass window picturing a student at work.

Four areas of study constitute the curriculum for Advanced Degree Studies and reflect the four departments of the Toronto School of Theology:

  • Bible (Old and New Testaments)
  • Theology (historical, systematic, philosophical, ethics, and interdisciplinary studies)
  • History
  • Pastoral Studies

Students may choose to focus in any of the above areas. The Faculty has particular strength in:

  • New Testament: Pauline Studies
  • Anglican History, Theology, & Ecclesiology
  • Philosophical Theology & Philosophy of Religion
  • Contemporary Ethics & Religious Critical Theory
  • Kierkegaard Studies
  • Augustine Studies

Each area or department has its own specific requirements. Students have the opportunity to take courses for credits at other member colleges of the Toronto School of Theology or at the University of Toronto. Students may also enroll in courses at the Ontario Studies in Education (OISE), which is also part of the university and located only a block away from Trinity College.