Trinity Alumni Appointed to the Order of Canada

Posted Jan 5, 2017 1:03 pm

On December 30, 2016, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, announced the new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include Trinity alumni Michael J. Sabia and Michael Ignatieff.

Officer of the Order of Canada: Alumnus Michael J. Sabia, O.C.
For his entrepreneurial leadership of and contributions to the rejuvenation and transformation of several iconic Canadian companies.

Member of the Order of Canada: Alumnus Michael Ignatieff, C.M.
For his contributions to the advancement of knowledge as a human rights scholar and reporter.

We also extend our congratulations to other members of U of T community (researchers, activists, artists and leaders) who were recognized with the honour. 

The Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. For the complete list of new recipients (December 30, 2016), click here.

Other members of the Trinity community recently appointed to the Order of Canada include: 

June 2016 Appointments: Associate of the College Dr. John Richard English and alumnus Dr. James W. St. G. Walker

December 2015 Appointments: Trinity’s former Provost Margaret MacMillan and alumni Atom Egoyan, Jennifer Anne Stoddart and Douglas Ward

July 2015 Appointments: Fellow Emeritus Stephen Cook and alumnus The Hon. John Wilson Morden

December 2014 Appointments: James Douglas Fleck, Fellow Dr. Mark Lautens, and alumni Christina Stuart Cameron, The Hon. William C. Graham (Chancellor of the College) and John Barker Lawson