Members of the Trinity Community Appointed to the Order of Canada

Posted Jan 8, 2018 3:54 pm

On December 29, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced 125 new appointments to the Order of Canada. Included among the new appointees are four Trinity alumni. Congratulations to Marilyn Baillie, Michael Church, John Hilborn and Stephen Otto who have all been named to the Order of Canada. 

Officer of the Order of Canada: 

Michael Church, O.C.: Michael has been named Officer for his important contributions in geomorphology, which has improved our understanding of rivers and river processes.

Members of the Order of Canada:

Marilyn Baillie, C.M.: An award-winning children’s author and editor, Marilyn has been recognized as a Member for her contributions to Canadian literature, education and the arts. Baillie is a Trinity College alumna and donor whose fondness for nature and the outdoors is highlighted by the environmental themes in her books.

John Hilborn, C.M.: A reactor physicist, John has been named a Member for his “innovative contributions as a physicist in the development of Canada's nuclear industry.” He acquired a bachelor's degree from Trinity College in 1949. 

Stephen Otto, C.M.: A historian and advocate for heritage conservation, Stephen has been appointed a Member for his passionate support for preserving Ontario's historical buildings and architecture. Otto obtained a bachelor's degree from Trinity College and is one of the founders of Friends of Fort York, a non-profit dedicated to maintaining Fort York and the Garrison Common.

The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours. Established in 1967 during Canada’s centennial year, the Order recognizes outstanding achievements, dedication to the community and service to the nation. For more information about the latest appointments to the Order of Canada, click here.

We also extend our congratulations to the many other University of Toronto community members appointed to the Order of Canada this year