Trinity College Names Mayo Moran 15th Provost

On February 24, 2014, Professor Mayo Moran was appointed the 15th Provost of Trinity College at the University of Toronto (U of T), effective July 1, 2014. At special meetings of the Trinity College Board of Trustees and Corporation, members voted in favour of Ms. Moran’s appointment. Mayo Moran is currently the Dean of U of T’s Faculty of Law.

After an exhaustive search, Professor Moran was chosen from a highly competitive, international pool of candidates. “A very high bar was set in our search for a new provost,” said Evan Howard, Chair of the Trinity College Board of Trustees and member of the Provost Search Committee. “Mayo had everything we were looking for: Her breadth of experience and her level of achievement, both academically and administratively, are undeniable. Under her leadership, U of T Law has risen from being the top school in Canada to one of the top law schools in the world. Mayo cares deeply about the educational experience as a whole, and we believe she will be key to advancing Trinity’s reputation as a global leader in that regard.”

Dean Moran will succeed Dr. Andy Orchard, who left Trinity in September for Oxford University. Dr. Michael J.H. Ratcliffe, Trinity’s Dean of Arts, has served as Interim Provost and Vice-Chancellor since Orchard's departure. “We are grateful to Dr. Michael Ratcliffe for his insightful stewardship of the College as Interim Provost over the past few months,” said Mr. Howard.

“Mayo brings vitality, enthusiasm and a real sense of vocation to the provost role. Trinity is a college known for the excellence of our provosts and the calibre of our students. Mayo’s scholarship and collaborative approach position her to lead the next chapter of our growth as a global academic leader, while her love of students marries well with Trinity’s role as a place of educating people who will make a difference in the world,” the Honourable William C. Graham, Chancellor of Trinity College and Chair of the Provost Search Committee said.

Meric Gertler, President of the University of Toronto was pleased at the prospect of keeping one of U of T’s greatest assets on campus. “We are delighted to congratulate Mayo Moran on her appointment as Provost of Trinity College. The impact of Mayo’s leadership at the Faculty of Law has been tremendous and I know she will bring her considerable talents and passion to Trinity College. On a personal note, Mayo is part of the University family and I am very pleased we will be able to continue to work together to build this great University.”


More about Dean Mayo Moran

Dean Moran joined the U of T Faculty of Law 1995, becoming Dean in 2006. In her role as Dean, she has led the redesign of many aspects of the Law program, from recruitment and admissions to curriculum and wellness programs, all with the goal of enhancing the student experience. In the process, U of T Law has gained international recognition as one of the world’s five best law schools (BrainTrack).

Under Dean Moran’s leadership, the Faculty of Law has created many new programs and centres, including the David Asper Centre for Constitutional Rights (the only Canadian Centre that brings constitutional law research, policy, advocacy and teaching together under one roof), the Centre for the Legal Profession, the Internationally Trained Lawyers Program and a new professional master's program, the Global Professional Master in Law.

“One of the great joys of my role as dean has been supporting outstanding students who are committed to making the world a better place,” said Professor Moran. “Having taught in a first-rate professional school, I am excited by the prospect of working with the wonderful students that Trinity is rightly renowned for – both its undergraduate students and the Faculty of Divinity’s graduate students. I look forward to building upon Trinity’s tradition of attracting the very best students to U of T and providing them with the kind of education that enables them to make a real difference.”

Her strong relationships with students, alumni and faculty led to Dean Moran’s successful leadership of a $53-million campaign that included the design and construction of a new building (the Jackman Law Building) for the Faculty of Law, which broke ground in 2013.

Dean Moran teaches private and public law, supervises graduate students, and publishes extensively. She is a frequent guest lecturer and an active member of a number of committees both inside and outside U of T. Since 2007 Dean Moran has chaired the Independent Assessment Process Oversight Committee that assists in the implementation of the Indian Residential Schools Agreement. In 2013, she was appointed to lead a review of Ontario’s Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act. 

Professor Moran obtained a B.A (1980, English and Sociology) and B.Ed. (1981) at the University of British Columbia and taught secondary school in northern British Columbia before attending law school.   She completed her LL.B. at McGill University (1990), her LL.M. at the University of Michigan (1992) and her S.J.D at the University of Toronto (1999).