Congratulations to Divinity’s Class of 2017

Posted: May 10, 2017

Graduands in the Chapel prior to the 2017 Divinity Convocation Ceremony

On May 9, Trinity College held its Divinity Convocation Ceremony 2017 for conferring of Degrees in Divinity and Honorary Degrees.

Professor Mayo Moran, Provost of Trinity College, welcomed honorable guests, graduates, family, faculty, staff and friends to Convocation. The Honourable William C. Graham, Chancellor of Trinity College, conferred degrees and Professor Elizabeth Smyth, Vice-Dean, School of Graduate Studies, conveys greetings to the graduating class from the University of Toronto.

Master’s and Doctoral Degrees (awarded conjointly with the University of Toronto):
  • Master of Divinity: Gavin Iain James Hamilton Keachie; John-Paul Gabriel Markides (honours); Michael Samuel Phillips (honours)
  • Master of Theological Studies: Jennifer Jane Godkin; Gordon Melvin Loney; Susan Anne McCulloch; Gail Mary Scott
  • Master of Theology: Daniel Francis Graves; Mark Hubert Lack; Andrew Edward Nussey
  • Doctor of Theology: John Yan Yee Chan; Jonathan Sandor Lofft
  • Doctor of Ministry: Stephen Douglas Muir
  • Doctor of Philosophy in Theology: David John Boehmer; Mariana Dobreva-Mastagar (graduated with PhDs from the University of St. Michael’s College at their convocation on November 11, 2016)
Diplomas, Licentiates and Certificates:
  • Diploma in Ministry: Weiliang Wu
  • Diploma in Theology: Jonathan Robert Cowans
  • Licentiate in Theology: Deborah Anne Chapman; Paul Joseph Jacobs Servos
  • Certificate in Orthodox and Eastern Christian Studies: Chris Douglas Floroff; Elena Yurievna Lobsanova; Susan Anne McCulloch

The Hon. William C. Graham then conferred honorary degrees to three recipients for their dedication to Trinity College and their years of service and life’s work.

2017 Divinity Convocation Honorees John Gibaut, Nona Heaslip, Paul Feheley

The Rev’d Canon Dr. John St. Helier Gibaut, Dr. Nona Macdonald Heaslip and The Venerable Allan Paul Feheley

Dr. Nona Macdonald HeaslipDoctor of Sacred Letters (photo: centre): presented by William Corcoran and hooded by Ms. Sadia Rafiquddin

The Venerable Allan Paul FeheleyDoctor of Divinity (photo: right): citation prepared by The Right Reverend Philip Poole and presented by The Most Reverend Colin Johnson, and hooded by The Reverend Canon Doctor Alyson Barnett-Cowan

The Rev’d Canon Dr. John St. Helier GibautDoctor of Divinity (photo: left) who also provided the inspiring Convocation Address: presented by The Most Reverend Colin Johnson and hooded by The Most Michael Peers.

The evening also provided the opportunity for The Rev. Canon W. David Neelands, Trinity’s Dean of Divinity and Margaret E. Fleck Professor in Anglican Studies, to present prizewinners to students in first, second and third years of their program. The Governor General’s Silver Medal for Highest Outstanding Overall was presented to Gavin Iain James Hamilton Keachie.

Dr. Nona Macdonald Heaslip

Nona Macdonald HeaslipPhilanthropist, passionate supporter of the arts and tireless volunteer, Dr. Nona Macdonald Heaslip graduated from St. Michael’s College (University of Toronto) and began her career in media and broadcasting at CBC Radio-TV and later with Time Inc. in New York City. She returned to Toronto to become the first Manager of Public Relations at the University of Toronto, transforming the campus experience for visitors. Dr. Heaslip has provided leadership and philanthropic support to numerous Canadian arts and culture institutions including the Shaw and Stratford Festivals and Theatre Museum Canada.

In 2005, along with her late husband William, Dr. Heaslip established The William and Nona Heaslip Scholarship with a generous contribution to the College. These renewable scholarships provide funding for Trinity students who actively participate in the community, have financial need, and strong academic records. After establishing the Scholarship at Trinity College, the Heaslips went on to replicate the model at nine other universities across Canada. In 2007, she established The William and Nona Heaslip Trinity-St. Antony’s Scholarship for Trinity students to study International Relations at Oxford University. Dr. Heaslip has received honorary degrees from the University of PEI (2008) and the University of Toronto (2009).

Dr. Heaslip will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Sacred Letters (honoris causa), and will be presented by Mr. William C. Corcoran, and hooded by Ms. Sadia Rafiquddin.

The Venerable Allan Paul Feheley

Paul FeheleyArchdeacon Feheley graduated from St. Michael’s Choir School in 1971. His studies continued at the University of Toronto where he earned a Bachelor of Music degree in 1975. In 1978 he graduated from Trinity College with a Master of Divinity (Honours) degree. His thesis was in communications. Paul was ordained a deacon in 1978 and as a priest in 1979.

In 2004 he became the Principal Secretary to the Primate of the Anglican Church of Canada. Alongside his national work, Paul is the priest in charge and musician of St Chad’s, Toronto, and the National Director of The Anglican Fellowship of Prayer. He is happily married to Jenni and has two younger children, Adrian and Sophie, two older sons, Kevin and Bryan, two wonderful daughter-in laws Charlotte and Courtney, and one grandson Rhys.

Archdeacon Feheley will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa), and will be presented by The Rt. Rev. Philip Poole, and hooded by the Rev’d Canon Dr. Alyson Barnett-Cowan.



The Rev’d Canon Dr. John St. Helier Gibaut

John GibautThe Rev’d Canon Dr. Gibaut received his MDiv from Trinity College in 1984. He then served in the Diocese of Quebec before returning to the College to enter the ThD programme in 1987. After graduation in 1994, John was a professor in the Faculty of Theology at Saint Paul University, Ottawa, until 2008. While at Saint Paul University, John taught in the areas of liturgy, church history, Anglican studies, and ecumenism. During that time he was a member of the Anglican-Roman Catholic Dialogue of Canada, the International Commission for Anglican-Orthodox Theological Dialogue, the Faith and Order Commission of the Anglican Church of Canada, the Inter-Anglican Liturgical Consultation, and the Inter-Anglican Standing Commission on Ecumenical Relations.

Upon his appointment in 2008 as Director of the Commission on Faith and Order, John worked for the World Council of Churches at Geneva, Switzerland. In 2015 he moved to London, England, to take up his present position as Director for Unity, Faith and Order in the Anglican Communion.

Canon Gibaut will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa), and will be presented by The Most Rev’d Colin Johnson, and hooded by the The Most Rev’d Michael Peers.