Members of the Trinity community receive 2022 U of T Arbor Awards

Posted: November 04, 2022

Congratulations to members of the Trinity College community – recipients of the 2022 Arbor Awards. The Arbor Awards are the University of Toronto’s highest honour in recognition of exceptional and longstanding volunteer service.

We are proud to honour and celebrate the tremendous generosity and contributions of our exceptional and longstanding volunteers. Congratulations to Trinity’s 2022 Arbor Award recipients: Ian L. Forsyth, Sharon C. Geraghty, Neil Hrab, Susan E. M. Huggard, Darcey R. Lazerte, Charles Pick, Ivor Simmons and Anthony Vaz.

Ian L. Forsyth

Ian has provided invaluable assistance to the Friends of the Library at Trinity College for several years. His support for the annual book sale includes overseeing finances, pricing the Business and Economics section, and lending a hand with set up and take down. He is a valued, long-term member of the Friends of the Library Executive who provides advice on logistics, operations, and more.

Sharon C. Geraghty

Sharon continues to give her time and talent to Trinity College at a leadership level, including as a member of its Corporation and Board of Trustees. As the current Board Chair, her efforts have been instrumental in developing and executing plans for the Lawson Centre for Sustainability as part of the Living Trinity campaign.

Neil Hrab

In 2016, Neil joined the New College Career Mentorship program to advise students who are interested in writing and editing. He provides insights into the profession and often gives students feedback about their written work. From 2013 to 2022, Neil also served on selection committees for two prominent U of T awards: Awards of Excellence – Quality of Student Experience and the Rose Wolfe Distinguished Alumni Award. Neil is an alumnus of Trinity College.

Susan E. M. Huggard

Susan has been a loyal volunteer of the Friends of the Library at Trinity College for over two decades. Her many contributions include organizing mailings, helping in the sorting room, and volunteering for the book sale. Susan recently donated the scrapbooks she prepared as a student in residence to the college’s archives.

Darcey R. Lazerte

For over a decade, Darcey has contributed to the Trinity College community as a member of Trinity’s Corporation. He has also served in active leadership roles on the Divinity Associates Executive as a member, vice-president, and currently as president. His efforts have shaped committee governance and supported fundraising and engagement of the alumni community.

Charles Pick

Charles has contributed to the Trinity community for over two decades. As a representative for the 1990 graduating class, he continues to build and strengthen alumni connections and engagement through Trinity Reunion events and fundraising initiatives. Charles is also a longstanding member of Convocation and the Trinity College Board of Trustees, for which he was recently appointed chair of the development committee.

Ivor Simmons

Ivor has been a volunteer with Trinity College’s Friends of the Library for over 15 years. He has worked as a cashier and in the sorting room with responsibility for the natural science books. In 2015, Ivor became a member of the group’s executive and in recent years has taken on a co-coordinator role managing donation pick-ups, storage, and more.

Anthony Vaz

Anthony’s dedicated support for Rotman Commerce over the past four years includes serving on its alumni steering committee, mentoring students, and his leadership of The Boardroom Case Competition (“The Boardroom”). His work for The Boardroom, which is a case competition for high school students, included recruiting keynote speakers and alumni judges, as well as selecting scholarship recipients. During COVID-19, Anthony ensured continuity by transitioning The Boardroom to an online format. Anthony is an alumnus of Trinity College.


View U of T President Meric Gertler’s Message to 2022 Arbor Award Recipients