Home > Discover Trinity College > About Trinity > The Chancellor William C. Graham Awards

The Chancellor William C. Graham Awards

Chancellor William C. Graham Awards Recognize Positive Change-Makers from the Trinity College Community

2019 Chancellor Awards Recipients

Chancellor Graham with members of the Trinity community who received the inaugural 2019 Chancellor William C. Graham Awards.

Do you know a member of the Trinity College community who leads by positive example or inspires others? Nominate them for the 2021 Chancellor William C. Graham Awards.

“Chancellor Bill Graham makes the Trinity community better in everything he does. He is extraordinarily generous in every way and a true inspiration to all of us at Trinity and beyond,” Provost Mayo Moran said. “The Chancellor William C. Graham Awards honour his immeasurable contributions and legacy by recognizing Trinity students, staff, faculty and alumni who help make the College a more welcoming and positive place.”

Since 2007, The Hon. Bill Graham has been serving as Trinity’s 12th Chancellor, the highest-ranking volunteer officer of the College. “I am truly honoured and humbled that the College has named this award in my name,” Chancellor Graham said. “I encourage all members of our community to support the College in whatever way you can to make Trinity and the broader community a more inspiring, civil and caring place.”

In its third year, The Chancellor William C. Graham Awards are given annually to individuals in the four categories: current students; administrative and service staff; academic staff; and alumni.

Details of the award and nomination process are below. If you have any questions, and to submit a completed nomination form (available below), please email provost@trinity.utoronto.ca.

The Chancellor William C. Graham Awards

The Chancellor William C. Graham Awards recognize individuals who have made a significant impact on the Trinity Community. Awards are given annually in each of the following categories:

  1. Current Students
  2. Administrative and Service Staff*
  3. Academic Staff, Faculty, Librarians, Fellows, Associates and Teaching Staff*
  4. Alumni

* Please note that members of Trinity’s senior administrative team are not eligible for nomination.

Recipients will be selected based on a demonstrated commitment to improving the spirit of caring and fostering a positive environment in the Trinity community. The Provost will chair the selection committee, which includes members from across the College. Examples of areas where contributions might be made: volunteer activities, mentorship, student life, student organizations, student services, staff services, innovative teaching or program development, athletics. Recipients will be dedicated members of the community who have made a positive difference through their commitment, generosity, initiative, creativity or skill. These awards are intended to recognize community contributions that go beyond the responsibilities and expectations of the individual’s role.

Nomination Process:

  1. Individuals may be nominated by anyone in the Trinity College community.
  2. The nomination may be made for recent contributions or based on service over a longer term.
  3. The nominator must download the Chancellor William C. Graham Awards Nomination Form (fillable PDF – 251 KB), including a statement detailing the nominee’s suitability for this award.
  4. The nominator must submit the nomination form by email to provost@trinity.utoronto.ca by Friday, October 15, 2021 at 4 pm (ET).

Past Recipients

2020 Chancellor William C. Graham Awards:

  • Lydia Angarso: Current Student
  • Rachel Berger-Viflanzoff: Current Student
  • Jerome Chang: Administrative Staff
  • Sophia DiNicolo: Current Student
  • John Duncan: Faculty
  • Nancy Graham: Alumni
  • Andrea Ho: Alumni
  • Geoffrey Ready: Teaching Staff
  • Ludwik Satel: Service Staff
  • Ramata Tarawally: Administrative Staff
  • Foti Vito: Current Student
  • Peter Wismath: Alumni
  • Sydney Yeung: Administrative Staff

2019 Chancellor William C. Graham Awards:

  • Jill Carmichael Adolphe: Alumni
  • Marvin Chen: Administrative Staff
  • Joy Fitzgibbon: Faculty, Fellow
  • Coreen Lowe: Service Staff
  • Meredith Meads: Administrative Staff
  • Allison MacDonald: Administrative Staff
  • Nathan Postma: Alumni
  • Stephen Scharper: Faculty, Fellow
  • Christine Sutcliffe: Current Student
  • Sebastian Warma: Current Student